XAMPP – Apache service not working on Windows Xp

I’ve been installing XAMPP on Windows 7 for 2 to 3 times, which is always a simple install and Apache/PHP works fine. However, yesterday with the 1.8.0 version, I get the same problem on two Windows XP machines, here is what I downloaded:

It installed successfully without any errors:

MySQL works fine, but when I hit the “Start” button to start Apache it says “Running” and then it stops running again in like 2/3 secs:

I had tried every possible way to free the port 80. For example, Disabled option that “Use port 80” in Skype and Teamviewer as well. But, still no luck:

The solution to this problem is really simple, just download and install Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 SP1 Redistributable Package (x86):

Then hit the “Start” button to start Apache:

Type http://localhost/ and hit Enter, this time it will present you with the xampp default web page:

Hope this will help you!

Please Remember me in your prayers!

Enjoy 🙂

6 responses to “XAMPP – Apache service not working on Windows Xp

  1. Pingback: Install WordPress Locally on Windows 7 with Xampp « Lazy Geek -:)

  2. Pingback: Install WordPress Locally on Windows 7 with Xampp | Lazy Geek :-)

  3. rombarte August 11, 2014 at 8:47 pm

    Thanks, it works for me.

  4. karimun jawa May 12, 2015 at 6:38 am

    oh man, you save my life…
    yes it work easy on win 7 but on xp, service not running..
    thanks you for your help bro…

  5. Rajitha August 28, 2015 at 12:13 pm

    For me this worked in XP.

  6. Karimun Jawa September 12, 2015 at 7:20 am

    its really work on my old pc.. you save my day brother..
    million thanksss

Leave a Reply

